Organize noise, provoke emotions

Posted: 16/03/2009 in Uncategorized

People often ask how I am able to create music from nothing. I tell them, “I don’t know.” To create a song from nothing would be like cooking with no kitchen or ingredients. Songs I hear, emotions I feel and life events I experience all play their part in the ideas I conjure up.

Music is a series of organized noise. For me, every sound within that noise evokes an emotion and is represented by a colour. Together, those colours articulate themselves into the melody in my mind and vision behind my music. When it comes to song writing, my main goal is to provoke that emotion in others – be it laughter, sadness, anger, sympathy or empathy. Really, it’s a bonus my joints make you bounce off the walls. My true intention is to get a rise out of you.

I approach song writing the same I do any conversation — start with a problem or story and then drop in a few examples to back up my point. The best part of the entire process is the disguise. The disguise helps me to get my point across without sounding like the parent to the rebellious teen — all preachy and boring. Dark or happy sounds, slow or upbeat tempo, the meoldy is the backdrop for the emotion, even on an instrumental track.

 My creative process pops off on the fly and rarely stops. I stopped working with timelines because, to be honest, my shit is done when it’s right. I can create a song in my head months before I sit down to work it out. I can write half a song in 10 minutes, but not finish it off for another few months. If the inspiration for the creative is right, the production side of the process takes about 15 minutes. So, I never rush it.

Still after all that explanation and breakdown, I still don’t fully understand nor want to understand my creative process. So when people ask me how I come up with this stuff, I will still answer with “I don’t know.”

Comments
  1. watcat says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. Hi,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

Leave a Reply

